European Solidarity

The Committee is in charge of offering financial support to young researchers and organisers of events from institutions with a shortage of resources for mathematical research, among other funding initiatives.

Committee members

NameEmailRoleTenure beginsTenure endsTerm
Stanislaw Janeczkojaneczko@impan.plChair20192022I
Ingrid Beltitaingrid.Beltita@imar.roMember20192022I
Alexandre Borovikalexandre@borovik.netMember20192022I
Roland Duduchavaroland.duduchava@tsu.geMember20172024II
Alice Fialowskifialowsk@cs.elte.huMember20172024II
Henar Herrero Sanzhenar.herrero@uclm.esMember20192022I
Rostyslav Hrynivrhryniv@ucu.edu.uaMember20192022I
Hrvoje Kraljevichrk@math.hrMember20212024I
Remigijus Leipusremigijus.leipus@mif.vu.ltMember20192022I
Peter Semrlpeter.semrl@fmf.uni-lj.siMember20192022I

Terms of Reference

The EMS Committee for European Solidarity will undertake actions to foster the development of mathematics in economically less-favoured regions within the geographical area of EMS membership and through the following means:

  • Awarding travel grants to young qualified mathematicians.
  • Promoting and funding training activities, such as advanced courses or workshops at an early-career level.
  • Supporting bilateral and multilateral regional conferences.
  • Raising new scientific initiatives.
  • Offering advice and assistance about the launching of development projects.
  • Easing access to research resources, including digital libraries.

Travel grant applications

The EMS Committee for European Solidarity awards travel grants to young mathematicians for presenting results at conferences or attending courses, or for research stays in foreign countries, normally up to a maximum of 900 euros in each case or 500 euros for trips within Europe. These grants are primarily for European based Mathematicians.

The deadlines for applications are January 31 and September 30 and the decision will be communicated during March and November.

Please submit your application online

Event funding requests

Funding is offered for the organisation of training events and conferences, normally up to a maximum of 3000 euros for each activity and devoted to early-career participant grants.

The deadlines for applications are January 31 and September 30 and the decision will be communicated during March and November.

Please submit your application online

EC liaison

Frédéric Hélein