Applications and Interdisciplinary Relations

The European Mathematical Society (EMS) has several committees in charge of different aspects of its activities. The Committee for Applications and Interdisciplinary Relations (CAIR) is the standing committee of the EMS involved in the promotion of applied and industrial mathematics at the European level.

Committee members

NameEmailRoleTenure beginsTenure endsTerm
Carola-Bibiane SchönliebC.B.Schoenlieb@damtp.cam.ac.ukChair20212024I
Josef Málekmalek@karlin.mff.cuni.czVice chair20212024I
Fabio Chalubchalub@fct.unl.ptMember20182021I
Susanne Ditlevsensusanne@math.ku.dkMember20182021I
Zoltán Horváthhorvathz@sze.huMember20182021I
María Paz Calvomaripaz@mac.uva.esMember20182021I
Marc Pfetschpfetsch@mathematik.tu-darmstadt.deMember20182021I
Dieter Prätzel-Woltersprwolt@itwm.fraunhofer.deMember20142021II
Ronny Ramlauronny.ramlau@jku.atMember20142021II
Gianluigi Rozzagrozza@sissa.itMember20182021I
Giovanni Russorusso@dmi.unict.itMember20142021II
Will Schildersw.h.a.schilders@tue.nlMember20142021II
Nizar Touzinizar.touzi@polytechnique.eduMember20172024II

Terms of Reference

The EMS Committee for Applications and Interdisciplinary Relations (CAIR) wants to promote Applied Mathematics as a whole through and within EMS. It wants to cooperate with other, sometimes more specialized, societies on the European and global level and with applications-oriented member societies, especially in further improving the public and political awareness about the importance of mathematics to cultural, economic and social development. In particular, the EMS and ECMI, the European Consortium for Mathematics in Industry, have signed a collaboration agreement since 2012, which at the level of the EMS will be carried out by its Committee for Applications and Interdisciplinary Relations (CAIR).

EC liaison

Barbara Kaltenbacher