Committee members

NameEmailRoleTenure beginsTenure endsTerm
Laurence Halpernhalpern "at" math "dot" univ-paris13 "dot" frChair20212024I
Julio Moro Carreñojmoro "at" math "dot" uc3m "dot" esMember20172024II
Hüsnü Ata Erbayhusnuata "dot" erbay "at" ozyegin "dot" edu "dot" trMember20212024I
Javier Fernández de Bobadillajbobadilla "at" bcamath "dot" orgMember20182025II
Irene Fonsecafonseca "at" andrew "dot" cmu "dot" eduMember20212024I
Klavdija Kutnarklavdija "dot" kutnar "at" upr "dot" siMember20212024I
Monika Ludwigmonika "dot" ludwig "at" tuwien "dot" ac "dot" atMember20212024I
Michela Ottobremo3 "at" hw "dot" ac "dot" ukMember20222025I
Birgit Richterbirgit "dot" richter "at" uni-hamburg "dot" deMember20222025I
Claudia Schillingsc "dot" schillings "at" uni-mannheim "dot" deMember20222025I

Terms of Reference

The Meetings Committee of The EMS is mainly concerned with activities listed below; it seeks suggestions and nominations accordingly:

  1. Nominations for EMS Lecturers: An EMS Lecturer, typically appointed once a year, is an honorary post, bestowed on an internationally renowned researcher. An EMS Lecturer is asked to deliver several lectures in various European places, where one of the lectures is tied to an international conference in Europe. 
  2. Nominations for EMS Distinguished Speakers: An EMS Distinguished Speaker is a prestigious appointment, awarded to an internationally renowned researcher. An EMS Distinguished Speaker is asked to deliver a plenary lecture in a large regional or international European conference.
  3. Proposals for EMS Weekends: An EMS Weekend is a regional European conference, interdisciplinary and covering several mathematical fields; usually organized jointly with one or several corporate societies.

Moreover, the Meetings Committee offers advice to the Executive Committee in all questions related to meetings and summer school activities.

Applications for funding should be submitted via the page below before September 30 of each year for the events hapening in the following year.

EC liaison

Luis Narváez Macarro