7 February 2022

29th Nordic Congress - call for session proposals

Richard Elwes

Celebrating the 150 years of the Danish Mathematical Society, the 29th Nordic Congress of Mathematicians with the EMS will take place in Aalborg in the North of Jutland (Denmark) in the week 3-7 July 2023. We now invite proposals for sessions.

Nordic Congress Cube Logo 1

The congress will take place in a hybrid format, with participation both in person and online.

The main events of the congress are 9 plenary lectures addressed to all participants and 15-20 parallel sessions focusing on a particular topic or area in mathematics, including probability theory and statistics, and the history of mathematics. A typical session will include presentations and discussions on two afternoons.

We hereby invite proposals for sessions. A successful proposal should be organised by a group of 2-4 mathematicians, preferably with one member coming from a Nordic country and one member coming from a non-Nordic European country.

The following points should be addressed in a proposal:

  • Session title
  • List of organisers with affiliation, e-mail address and information on how the organisers plan to participate; in person (preferred) or online
  • A brief description of the (fairly broad) session topic or area
  • A short list of potential contributors to the session

The congress has no funds for financing sessions but will provide logistic support, including enabling the hybrid format.

Proposals should be submitted to the chair of the Scientific Committee, Arne Jensen, matarne@math.aau.dk. Deadline: 1 September 2022.

Shortly after the deadline the Scientific Committee will select up to 20 proposals for sessions at the congress.

The Scientific Committee has been appointed by the Nordic Mathematical Societies and by the European Mathematical Society. It consists of: Arne Jensen (Aalborg U; chair), Jana Björn (Linköping U), Martin Bridson (U Oxford), Rosa Donat (Basque C Appl. Math.), Tuomo Kuusi (U Helsinki), Eva Miranda (UP Catalunya & CRM Barcelona), Rögnvaldur Möller (U Iceland), and Volodya Roubtsov (U Angers).

Click on this link for the congress's website.