EMS Distinguished Speakers

An EMS Distinguished Speaker is a prestigious appointment, awarded by the EMS to an internationally renowned researcher.
They are asked to deliver a plenary lecture at a large regional or international European conference.

  • University of Chicago

    Andre Neves

    EMS Distinguished Speaker at the 7th Iberoamerican Congress on Geometry
    January 22-26, 2018, Valladolid, Spain

  • Moscow State University

    Ernest Borisovich Vinberg

    EMS Distinguished Speaker at the 50th Sophus Lie Seminar
    September 25 - October 1, 2016, Bedlewo

  • Université Paris 6

    Sylvia Serfaty

    EMS Distinguished Speaker at the AMS-EMS-SMP Meeting
    June 11-14, 2015, Porto

  • NTNU Trondheim, Norway

    John Erik Fornaess

    EMS Distinguished Speaker at the CSASC 2013
    June 9-13, 2013, Koper, Slovenia

  • University of Valencia

    Gabriel Navarro

    EMS Distinguished Speaker talk “Main problems in the representation theory of finite groupsat the EMS-RSME Joint Mathematical Weekend
    October 7-9, 2011, Bilbao

  • University of Texas, Austin

    Alan Reid

    EMS Distinguished Speaker talk “The hyperbolic and Riemannian Geometry of Surfaces and other Manifoldsat the Conference in honour of Peter Buser
    October 31-November 4, 2011, Centro Stefano Francini, Ascona, Switzerland