EMS Handbook

5.2 Felix Klein Prize


Mathematics often plays the decisive role in finding solutions to numerous technical, economical and organizational problems. In order to encourage such solutions and to reward exceptional research in the area of Applied Mathematics the EMS decided, in October 1999, to establish the Felix Klein Prize. The mathematician Felix Klein (1849–1925) is generally acknowledged as a pioneer with regard to the close connection between mathematics and applications which lead to solutions to technical problems.

Principal guidelines

The Prize is awarded to a scientist, or a group of at most three scientists, of the age of 38 or younger at the time of nomination, for using sophisticated methods to give an outstanding solution, which meets with the complete satisfaction of industry, to a concrete and difficult industrial problem.

Description of the award

The award comprises a certificate including the citation and a cash prize of €5,000. The money for the Prize fund is offered by the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics in Kaiserslautern. The Institute transfers the money to the EMS Secretariat and the EMS Secretariat transfers the money to the winner.

Prize Committee selection guidelines

The Prize Committee for the Felix Klein Prize consists of three persons suggested by EMS, two persons suggested by Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics in Kaiserslautern and one suggested by ECMI.

Nominations for the award

The Prize Committee is responsible for solicitation and the evaluation of nominations. Nominations can be made by anyone, including members of the Prize Committee. Self-nominations are not acceptable. It is the responsibility of the nominator to provide all relevant information to the Prize Committee, including a résumé and documentation of the benefit to industry and the mathematical method used. The nomination for the award must be accompanied by a written justification and a citation of about 100 words that can be read at the award date. The prize is awarded to a single person or to a small group and cannot be split.

The call for nominations is published on the EMS website and sent to the EMS corporate and individual members in autumn (October – November) two years prior the ECM.

Nominations must be sent to the chair of the Prize Committe and the EMS Secretariat, ems-office@helsinki.fi, not later than on December 31 of the year prior to the ECM.

Award presentation

Before ECM the winner names are kept secret. The prize recipients are invited to present their work at the congress.